The Past in the Future

Michael and I went out on a date the other night. It was lovely. We made plans, but cancelled them in favor of revisiting our old Olive Garden stomping grounds. We drank a little, laughed a lot, and saw a few old friends.

What really struck me about that experience was just how easy it all was. Sometimes I get frustrated with myself because of just how hardened I’ve become and how irritable I often am at this stage of my life. But how quickly I was able to lighten up and be the fun, easy going, silly version of myself! How easy it was to reconnect with my husband and love him so fully! This is a tremendous encouragement to me because it was a good reminder that I’m not doomed to be this hardened, irritable person forever; this is temporary and we’re OK.

Leave a Reply

