No, I’m Not An Anti-vaxxer

I feel like having a conversation about vaccines always goes something like this:

“I question some of the ingredients in vaccines and find -”

“VACCINES DO NOT CAUSE AUTISM. THAT’S A PROVEN FACT!”

“Well, no, I don’t think they cause autism, I just think that pharmaceutical companies should be held-”

“DO YOU HAVE POLIO?! THAT’S BECAUSE OF VACCINES! WHY WOULD YOU WANT YOUR CHILD TO GET SICK?!”

“I don’t. And the odds of my child contracting hepatitis B are-”

“YOU’RE DESTROYING THE HERD IMMUNITY THAT YOU YOURSELF RELY ON!”

“Well no, my kids ARE vaccinated, it’s just that-”

“ZOMG! YOU’RE SUCH A HYPOCRITE!”

Now, to be fair, I believe the bulk of you guys – my friends and family – are a reasonable bunch, capable of discussing these things without a problem. This post was inspired by an article about Mayim Bialik and her “anti-vaxxer” stance – a term that I do not believe is warranted for her. It’s just that the public attitude about it (on either side) makes it impossible to find reliable information. I’m sure there are plenty of other parents like myself who do not believe that vaccines are evil or cause autism, but also don’t trust Big Pharma and its absence of accountability. But even asking questions seems to lead to nothing but a barrage of “crackpot” and “cruel parenting” accusations. It’s so frustrating feeling forced into decisions that I’m not comfortable with.

Leave a Reply

