Thinking and Wondering About Future Thinking and Wondering

img_20161102_162410380

This is my view when lying in our hammock. A few days ago, I was lying here, looking at this tree, wondering how old it is. It won’t be here forever. I wonder how much longer it will be here.

Our mortgage is set for thirty years. Thirty years from now, will this tree still be here? Will I be lying in a hammock – hung on a hook, or attached to a younger tree – thinking about the tree that once was? Or will it still be the same comfortable, familiar view? What will I be thinking about then? My grandchildren? My mother? Will I be missing her, remembering her? I wonder who I’ll be then, what I’ll be thinking about, and what the view will be like…

Leave a Reply

