A Frustrated Rant About Left/Right Issues

It bothers me to no end that for every single political issue, there’s a “left” or “right,” “liberal” or “conservative” stigma attached to it. Sometimes, the stigmas make sense, but not always. I don’t know the truth behind the origins of the terms “liberal” and “conservative,” but I assume – based on the words themselves – that they refer to the liberal (or conservative) application of government force and/or finances. If that’s the case, then I can see why public schooling or affirmative action would be considered liberal issues, while freedom of gun ownership would be a conservative issue. But then, if that’s the case, why would the military/war be put in the “conservative” bag? And why are there those same stigmas applied to every non-governmental issue as well – such as sexuality (not referring to marriage or employment rights, but sexuality in general), art, racism, or even just plain asking questions (a friend of mine said, “You don’t even have to draw any conclusions. The minute you start asking questions, everyone thinks you’re super liberal. It isn’t a term you choose, either – it’s placed on you by how others see you.” I’m finding that all to be true.)?

It burns me up that even the very term “rape culture” is considered a “liberal” issue that only “feminazis” talk about. The issue of consent (and therefore, the breaching of it) has been extremely important to me since I was old enough to know what it was. As a teenager (and even still) I was nervous about the idea of having kids because I’m concerned that someone somewhere could abuse them – or that they themselves could abuse others. I’m baffled that my prioritization on teaching my sons that touching someone who does not want to be touched is NOT OK makes me a liberal. Why would anyone want to teach them otherwise, let alone a political affiliation that claims to prioritize family?! Don’t believe me that it’s a liberal thing? I see it all the time in political small talk and online forums, but just check out what Rush Limbaugh said:

“You know what the magic word, the only thing that matters in American sexual mores today is? One thing. You can do anything, the left will promote and understand and tolerate anything, as long as there is one element. Do you know what it is? Consent. If there is consent on both or all three or all four, however many are involved in the sex act, it’s perfectly fine. Whatever it is. But if the left ever senses and smells that there’s no consent in part of the equation then here come the rape police.”

Ah, well…YEAH! Of course! And tell me again why it’s “the left” that cares? Shouldn’t everybody?! Apparently not.

It seems to me that if you ask questions or care about how people feel and are treated, you must be a liberal. None of this labeling really means anything, and it’s part of the nature of mankind, but it drives me nuts, nonetheless.

I’m not a liberal, myself – I’m extremely pro life, pro big business, and think that heavily taxing the rich is wrong. But then again, I also strongly prioritize education, am anti war, desire to raise awareness of racism and sexual assault, and think that we should be taking better care of the environment (regardless of global warming). I’m slowly coming to grips with the fact that I’m not a conservative, either. Do I really have to pick? I don’t see why I should.

Leave a Reply

